Our Personal ‘Trainor’ is All We Need

Meghan Trainor isn’t a foreign name anymore. She became a household name with her hit song “All About That Bass”, which proved existential for females across the nation.  With a foot stepped in the direction of feminism and music blaring through your speakers with such a peppy beat is certain to make any female feel strong and independent.  Trainor reminds us with her first single that “every inch of you is perfect, from the bottom to the top.”

Trainor’s love for music started at an early age, and she began singing when she was just six.  Song-writing came into play once she was eleven.  She grew up in Nantucket, Massachusetts, and is now at the top of the music industry.  Her fame was pretty unlikely, but the world is pretty grateful that fate was playing on her side.

Meghan’s new album is really girl power, trying to prove that everyone is beautiful and perfect:

I guess I could waste all my time and my money just trying to look right
But it doesn’t change who I am in my heart if I look like a dime

So I want you to close your eyes
Sing to the world tonight
And show them what’s beautiful
I don’t care what they think
No, I’m not listening
‘Cause I know I’m beautiful
So close your eyes

– Close Your Eyes

Denying gender-based stereotypes:

You got that 9 to 5
But, baby, so do I
So don’t be thinking I’ll be home and baking apple pies
I never learned to cook
But I can write a hook
Sing along with me
Sing-sing along with me (hey)

– Dear Future Husband

So the next time you’re sitting around, feeling powerless, check out Meghan Trainor’s music. ♡

Leave a comment